Newhaven

Welcome back!

Today I am going to write about one of my new hobbies: since it’s summer and sunset starts around 10pm, I’ve started going for late walks whenever I’m free. I find it very relaxing because there are no crows anymore at that time and it is a great thing to do to clear your head after a long day. The other day I decided to go to Newhaven, not far from where I live and the truth is that I couldn’t have chosen a better place.

IMG_0089
A funny bench on Commercial St

I walked through Commercial St., where Leith Market takes place every Saturday, and I passed by Ocean Terminal just to get to Newhaven. For still many people this is a not so well-known area, but in fact you don’t go there just for the amazing views, you go there for the food as well. If you’re a food lover and you enjoy a nice fish/sea food meal, that’s the place to go!

Here people are allowed to fish privately, and that is why you can find many people fishing in Newhaven, especially when the tide is low and the sea is calm, just like I found it the other day. Usually, I would have stayed longer to take more and better pictures, but it I was caught by the rain so I decided to go back home, but I will be definitely going there on more than one of my late walks.

IMG_0096.JPG

¡Bienvenidos una semana más al blog!

Hoy os voy a hablar de una de mis nuevas aficiones: como estamos en verano y aquí anochece más tarde de las 10pm, cuando tengo tiempo me salgo a dar un paseo. Es muy relajante porque a esas horas ya no encuentras el ajetreo de todo el día y viene muy bien para despejarse. El otro día me animé a ir hacia la zona del puerto de Newhaven, no muy lejos de donde vivo y la verdad es que es una zona que no me puede gustar más.

IMG_0095.JPG

Fui por Commercial St., donde se celebra el mercado de Leith de los sábados, pasando después por la zona de Ocean Terminal y por fin llegué a la zona de Newhaven. Para muchos aún es una zona poco conocida, pero la verdad es que allí no solo podemos gozar de impresionantes vistas al fiordo, sino que también encontramos restaurantes populares por sus platos de pescado y marisco, con lo que la verdad es que es una zona que recomiendo mucho.

Aquí la pesca particular está permitida, por lo que no es raro que nos encontremos a personas pescando sobre todo cuando la marea está baja y el mar en calma, como me pasó a mí. Normalmente me habría quedado más tiempo del que estuve para sacar más fotos, pero la verdad es que se puso a llover y decidí volver a casa, pero desde luego será uno de mis puntos preferidos para mis paseos “nocturnos”.

IMG_0093.JPG

Leave a Reply

